Arkansas State University-Jonesboro
Faculty Association Meeting
Fall Faculty Conference
August 13, 2014
Centennial Hall
ASU-J Campus

Minutes

President Julie Isaacson called the meeting to order. She asked all new ASU faculty members to stand followed by the standing of all ASU faculty senators. President Isaacson announced that ASU Faculty Association dues were being collected at the table just outside the entrance of Centennial Hall.

President Isaacson provided those in attendance with a PowerPoint slide show which noted that the ASU Faculty Association can now conduct some business electronically (such as electronic voting) as articulated in the by-laws. It was also stated that annual dues were raised from \$10 to \$15 by this form of voting. Pradeep Mishra was announced as the faculty member serving as Secretary and Treasurer for the Association.

The President called attention to the holiday gathering that the Association held at the end of the fall 2013 semester in the Cooper Alumni Center and stated that the Association plans to hold a similar event again this year. At the event this year, which is scheduled for December 4, 2014 at 4:00 p.m., the Association with the assistance of the ASU Faculty Association Historical Committee chaired by Dr. John Hall, College Deans, the Ad hoc College Committees, the Office of Academic Affairs and Research, and significant others plans to once again honor distinguished faculty who have since retired following the nomination and selection process outlined in the current ASU-J Faculty Handbook.

Next, the President presented the Treasure's Report (please see attached document). A motion was made to accept the report followed by a second and the report was approved by the members.

President Isaacson closed the fall meeting by stating that the Association would likely be re-examining the shared governance process on campus at the recommendation of both Faculty Senate Executive Committee and Academic Affairs and Research. A motion to adjourn was moved, seconded, and approved.

Minutes submitted by John D. Hall, Ph.D., Vice-Chairperson of the ASU Faculty Senate, Faculty Senator, and Member of the ASU Faculty Association August 22, 2014.